Lesbians Like Bikes

It’s true, we do.  All of my lesbian friends own bikes.  Even my queer acquaintances own bikes.  There’s even a NYC based group called Dykes on Bike-Cycles http://www.dykesonbikecycles.com/

I own a bike.  It’s a 1970’s Schwinn cruiser named Samara.  She weighs about 30lbs and I’m not exaggerating.  I don’t ride my bike.  I wish I could but it has, issues.  Maintenance issues to be exact.  My sweet gear-head girlfriend just bought new tires for my bike and once she puts them on I’ll commence to riding her around again.  It’s just the getting her up the two flights of stairs to my apartment and the weight which makes it difficult to do anything other than cruise that prevents me from riding her with more vigor.  

M is trying to reassure me that she’ll be able to get Samara in tip-top shape but I’m not really into waiting.  I’d much rather just buy a new bike.  I’ve got my eye on a fixie from Republic Bikes http://www.republicbike.com/?gclid=CKzb04_U2qECFQqbnAoduhNlLA I like that I can pick out the color of the bike and that it’s light weight.  I realize that there are more important features to a bike than all the “cool” colors but let’s get real, I’m not a “biker.”  Because I will only be using my bike for riding to and from work (occasionally) and Manhattan and Brooklyn are relatively flat I refuse to spend thousands of dollars on bikes like the ones my BFF rides.  She happens to work for a bike shop so the discount is helpful.  Which brings me to my first point.  Lesbians Like Bikes.  I’m so confident in that statement that I’m calling it fact. 

The fact is that if you were to join a bike group like DOBC or any cycling group, for that matter, you’re bound to bump into a gay girl.  You’re even more likely to bump into a gay girl if you join a gay cycling group.  I mean, why join a cycling group if it’s not gay?  I will admit that there are very straight bikers riding around the boroughs and I’m all for straight bikers.  What I am saying is that in the queer community, and the lesbian community more specifically there are lots of bikes. 

There’s another group of NYC girl bikers called NYC Babes on Bikes that doesn’t classify itself as a queer organization but rather it makes mention of the notion of bicycling as a giant leap for woman-kind.  Looking at the pictures, though, I’m quite certain I spotted a gay girl or seven so check it out.  http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=511788197&v=wall&story_fbid=393121488197#!/group.php?gid=120871277929623

If you like your biker babe nice and gay go here.  The Dykes on Bike-Cycles Pride Benefit Dance Party on June 5th in Park Slope, BK.

I’ll be there and I hope you will be, too.

Leave a Reply

