In Celebration of Black History Month 3

My pick for today’s influential black LGBT person is…

Lee Daniels

http://www.leedanielsentertainment.com/

 

Granted it’s only been 3 days now that I’ve done this little ditty but look!  A man’s picture on OhioLezGirlinNYC!!  I rarely talk about men and it’s not because I’m a man-hating lesbian, it’s just rare to find a man worthy of discussion.  Lee Daniels is such a man.  Lee Daniels isn’t just any man- he’s black and gay man-which is why he’s being featured.  It’s not just that, though.  In case you’ve been living under a rock or without access to television or internet you’d be blithely unaware that his name is on the lips of every entertainment reporter, movie-junkie, and all over Twitter right now because of his recent Oscar Nomination for Best Director for the movie Precious.

Now I’m going to admit something here and I don’t want to be reprimanded.  I may be the only person left on the planet to not see Precious.  It’s shocking,  I’m aware.  It is on my list of things to do this week.  Truth be told, the last movie I saw was Slumdog Millionaire (and that terrible movie with SJP and Hugh Grant but my mom paid for that because we wanted to laugh not cry)

I did see Monster’s Ball-the first production of Lee Daniels Entertainment.  Lee Daniels, while being the producer and director of incredibly eye-opening movies, is an openly gay black man.  As the producer of Monster’s Ball Lee became the first black producer for an Oscar-winning movie when Halle Berry became the first black woman to win Best Actress.   After Oscar night on March 7th he may be the first gay black man to win for Best Director.  Bravo, Mr. Daniels!

 

Leave a Reply

