first day of twenty-ten

Yesterday I had 205 hits on my blog.  That’s pretty amazing!  And it looks like ya’ll were diggin’ deep.  Some really old post got a breath of new life so I appreciate you coming over to say what up.

I’ve given it some thought and decided that having Resolutions for the New Year just sets yourself up for failure.  It’s really difficult to give yourself a few things you resolve to improve about your life and when you don’t achieve them or forget about them, like last year, you’re upset and disappointed in that failure.  Instead, there are some things that I want to focus my attention on and I’m going to share those with you.

1.  Finish my  Short Story.

I’ve been working on this story for over a year.  There are bits and pieces of it on my blog so if you read it and like it any feedback would be great.  I’m pretty done with it except for one, very important part-the ending.  I have the idea in my head but the words aren’t flowing as easily as I would like them to which makes for a little bit of an issue when it comes to entering it in the 10 short story contests I’m interested in.  Those contests have a January 15th deadline which means that I have 14 days to finish it, edit it, and send it.

2.  Write

I’m a writer, did you know that?  I’m sort of a “fake” writer in that I don’t have the means to be without a job so I can pay my bills so my writing time is severely jeopardized.  At any rate I have that short story to finish up as well as a novel I’ve been working on for several years and the start of another piece I was inspired to write during my writing group.

Ideally I could find a job writing for a publication; Hello Curve Magazine, Diva Magazine, Out, or the Advocate!?!  Hello!?  I’m here, I’m queer I wanna write for you.

3. Run

There’s a 200 mile run from Woodstock, NY to the Bronx, NY in May of this year that I’m trying to run.  I need to find 12 friends to make the huge registration fee but it seems like a lot of fun.  I also want to join Front Runners, a LGBT running club in Manhattan.

I used to be a runner.  When Mirs and I first met I was training for a half marathon.  Then I fell in love and spent all of the time I used to spend running making out and the such so the running sort of went by the way side and my waist line expanded a bit.  I don’t want to run to lose weight, per se, but to be more healthy and more active in my life.

4.  Therapy

I’ve often considered the merits of going to therapy and after having a pseudo panic attack the last night of Hanukkah I think it may be time to bite the bullet and get on the couch.

I think that’s a good start.  And once I’ve made those four a part of my every day life then I can add a few more things to focus my attention on.

What about you?  Any thing you want to focus on this year?

Leave a Reply

