Hear Come the Holidays

I work retail.  I’m sure I’ve said that on this blog once, twice, about a dozen times.  Thankfully, our store hasn’t started consistent playing of Holiday music so working 9-10 hour days isn’t as annoying as it could be.  Don’t get me wrong, I love Christmas music.  In fact, last week when I made my fifth batch of Vegan Shepherd’s pie I was listening to the Mariah Carey “All I Want for Christmas is You” station on Pandora.  Yet, standing in the crazy-long line in Trader Joes on 14th Street with people jamming their carts into your ankles, getting out of line to continue their shopping keeping you “in charge” of pushing their cart along with your own “Jingle Bell Rock” is probably the last thing that I want to hear.

It’s about this time of year when your stress levels seem to sky rocket because just after the turkey coma wears off and you are back at work the following Monday the Calendar reminds you that you only have X amount of days until Christmas.  For me, I only have 12 days until the first night of Hanukkah and after that I will worry about the Christmas presents.

My three-year-old nephew and light of my life, Jullian, is having hard time buying into the whole Santa Claus thing.  He’s arguably the smartest 3 year-old I know.  I’m not just saying this because he’s my nephew-he started talking at 10 months, and could identify colors before he was a year old.  He’s wildly opinionated, passionately stubborn, and very strong-willed.  For instance, he refused to get into the costume my mother purchased for him for Halloween because he didn’t see the point in dressing up for candy when you could just get candy from the store.  (Ahh, consumerism)  Christmas and Santa Claus are the same way.  He thinks it makes no since to wait for Santa to bring you presents and toys when you can get in the car, go to the store, and buy the toys there.  Just when my mom almost had him believing a Toys R Us commercial came on the television and he made his point once more-Why wait when you can get it now?

As a result I have been sending him letters from “Santa” starting last week.  I use information my mom’s given me on how he’s been naughty or nice and write to him from the voice of Santa Claus.  I went to Target and found some Holiday themed paper, got some stickers and sparkly pens and perfected my penmanship to convince my nephew into believing in something he’ll stop believing in in about 7-8 more years.  I have to admit that it’s fun to pretend to be Santa.  I’m even looking forward to staying up all night and putting presents under the Christmas Tree for him to discover on Christmas Morning.

Leave a Reply

