Transgender Day of Remembrance

I was toolin’ around my Twitter account today and came across this http://www.feministe.us/blog/archives/2009/11/20/transgender-day-of-remembrance-2009/

Apparently, today is the 11th annual Transgender Day of Remembrance.  As I read the above article and other posts linked to that website it occurred to me how frequently when we think of LBGT we forget the T.  Most magazines and websites centered around Gays and Lesbians negate completely the B or the T of the acronym.

I only know two trans people and they’re both acquaintances.  They’re also both white.  It’s shocking to me that of the murdered trans people in the world a large percentage are people of color.  So today I’m remembering those people who had the courage to be who they were and those that continue to live the lives they do.

Leave a Reply

