Break Up Letter

I hate doing this in a letter. I know I should do this face-to-face but it’s just too hard. I’m selfish, I know, and I’m doing this this way because it’s easier for me-therefore harder for you but what can I say. You’ve made me this way. You’ve made me the person who I am now. I came to you innocent, naive, new and I’m going to walk away stronger, tougher, and bitchier.

I’ve been with some one else. It started off innocently enough; I just needed an escape, a distraction, something to take my mind off of us. I wasn’t planning on liking it and am surprised to find that I love it-more than I ever thought I would. It’s been going on for a week now, and now that I’m back I know what I need to do.

It’s over, New York, I’m sorry. I’m just not getting what I need out of our relationship. I mean, you’re there for me and I cherish what we’ve shared. We’ve been together for a long time, a very long time, it’s been almost five years but lately I’ve started to feel a little empty. I’m feeling exhausted, drained, and tired. I’m tired of giving and giving and you taking and taking.

I know it’s going to be hard on both of us, but I think it best that we avoid contact for a little bit. I want to talk to you and I know we have a lot to discuss but for the time being, I need some space to process. I know you’re hurting and I’m hurting, too. I don’t want there to be hard feelings-you’ll always be in my heart but I’m leaving you (in three years) for the Bay Area.

Forever Yours,

Erika

3 thoughts on “Break Up Letter

Leave a Reply

