Join the Impact, Margaret Mead, and Noodle Soup

Today my roommates and I, along with one of my associates, and Miriam attended the Join the Impact protest at City Hall down town New York. The New York times estimates that approximately 4000 people were in attendance. Several speakers, including L-Word actress Daniela Sea and America’s Next Top Model cast member and Kim Stoltz spoke to the crowd. Over and over I kept hearing the same thing that I’ve been saying-This is Our Generation’s fight. The previous night, after the Mead Festival my roommates, Miriam and I were having a discussion about going to the protest and what it meant for us as individuals.

Case and Kells told us about a gay rights protest at their university campus and how they felt standing amongst the student body in front of religious organizers with terrible signs and yelling disgusting slurs. Thankfully, today wasn’t like that. It felt great to be a part of such an important event and I know it’s not the first protest that I will be attending this year. 2009 has to be a year of activism in the gay community. Decades ago, our community banded together after the Stonewall riots to have our voices heard and again it’s time to do it again.

The messages on the many signs said things like “Make Love not H8” “We are ALL Equal” and my favorite “Straight Republicans against Prop 8″ I also loved the signs being held by children that said things like “Let my mommies get married”

Although I’m still feeling horribly sick (thanks to the lady) I was glad to be a part of the Join the Impact Protest. If you didn’t make it out, there are many more to come, I’m sure. We have to make sure that we’re making our voices heard and letting people know that we’re not just going to remain silent.
http://www.cnn.com/2008/US/11/15/same.sex.marriage/index.html
http://www.nytimes.com/2008/11/16/us/16protest.html?hp

Congrats to Wanda Sykes for coming out publicly today at the Las Vegas Rally!

~
Last night Miriam and I attended the opening night of the Margaret Mead Film Festival at the American Museum of Natural History. It’s pretty amazing to have friends who work at museums, BTW. The opening movie was “Edward Curtis’ Landmark 1914 Silent Film of Pacific Northwests First Nations Culture,” In the Land of the Head Hunters. The film was recovered in a dumpster in Chicago and restored with the majority of the original film intact. The film’s entire cast was Native Americans and the score performed during the viewing was made up of an entirely Native American Orchestra. At the end of the movie, descendants of the original cast answered questions from the audience.

Afterwards, we got a chance to catch up with a lot of our friends that we haven’t seen since camping in the summer. It was nice to catch up. It still feels sort of awkward for me to call them my friends, since they’re more Miriam’s friends than mine. I’m still trying to carve out a little lesbian niche for myself.

The wine and cheese reception in the Gems and Minerals room gave us a chance to check out the crowd and get a little free buzz action. I’m not sure when it happened but the Margaret Mead Film Festival sure attracts a large number of queers. Definitely a lot of straight people but an over whelming amount of gays, which was incredibly refreshing. I asked Mir, as it was her second Mead Festival, if it was an underground lesbian event. It could be that our friend, a key organizer to the event, is a gay woman and invited a lot of her gay friends. It also helps that our other friend had her job prior, therefore more gay women. If you’re a single, gay girl and looking for a place to meet the ladies, get your cute little ass to the Mead Festival next year to find yourself a hot little (smart) lady.

http://www.amnh.org/programs/mead/?src=h_h

Now we’re making snickerdoodle cookies. I’m not sure what cookies have to do with a raging head cold but I want some, so I’m making ’em.

Leave a Reply

