Prop 8

I was having a chat with one of my associates tonight about California and Proposition 8 (again). I hate to keep bringing it up, but it needs to be brought up. If you think about it, it’s our generation’s fight. We weren’t here for Women’s Liberation or through the Civil Rights Movement. Equality for all people, specifically gay people, is our fight.

Most conversations that I’ve had about Proposition 8 has been with my straight friends and they all tend to agree that it’s just their fight to win as it is mine. It’s not about gay or straight, it’s about people. The biggest problem that I have with Proposition 8 or any amendment to the constitution surrounding marriage is that they’re all in direct violation of the separation of church and state.

If marriage is a union in the eyes of god, then churches should decide whether or not they marry a couple, not the government. If marriage is a government institution, then there is no way that you could deny someone those basic human rights based on sexual orientation because that’s discrimination. So where’s the issue?

I always have to take a step back and remember that about a hundred years ago women didn’t have the right to vote, blacks couldn’t vote. It was only a few decades ago that it was illegal for blacks to marry whites, and the idea of separate but equal was written law. Here we are, years later and this issue of separate but equal is back. A civil union is not marriage and marriage is not a civil union. Calling them equal is bullshit.

I’m thrilled that the Governator has scolded his state for their vote on November 3rd and that he’s vowed to not revoke the hundreds of same sex marriages that were performed in California. But what about the hundreds of same sex couples still needing to get married? It’s so incredibly to me that people who have spent their entire lives together, making a home together, living as a married couple have no legal rights under the constitution.

My hope is that in light of this new step the United States is taking in this election season and year that we can continue to take steps in the right direction. I also hope that we as a gay community are up for the fight that’s ahead of us.

2 thoughts on “Prop 8

  1. There are a lot of things I hope changes as a result of our new president, but I doubt this will be one of them. He’s for civil unions and not same sex marriages. I think I’d be happy if he’d just make Don’t ask, don’t tell go away, but that’s my own personal agenda.

    There is a blog you might want to check out. It’s supposed to be written by an 80 year old woman. Her views on Prop 8 are surprising.

    http://margaretandhelen.wordpress.com/2008/11/11/the-view-needs-glasses/

  2. I know, it’s unfortunate. I’d like to think that his views will change in the future, but only time will tell. Thanks for the blog recommend, I will definitely check it out!

Leave a Reply

