Gay Pride NYC 2008

NYC Pride was this weekend and it was a really fun experience. It was my first Pride and I wanted to take everything in. I missed the Dyke March on Saturday but made sure to go to the Pride Parade on Sunday. It was definitely mostly for the boys-lots of naked boys every where! Not to be outdone, I stripped down to my undies and walked around the Village in my rainbow boy short undies and a tank-holding hands with a lovely lady. Let me explain…It’s true I’m kind of an exhibitionist but it started POURING rain. Lady M. and I found shelter under a building in a door way and watched the rain soak the on-lookers. We were safe for about 15 minutes until the wind changed and suddenly we were soaked! We ended up playing and dancing in the rain while floats blasted songs like “It’s Raining Men” and “Umbrella”. After about a half hour to forty-five minutes the sun beamed out and I dried out, kinda, while we walked around. About an hour later it started to rain again and I decided that it’d be best to just remove the strapless dress I was wearing so that I’d have something dry to wear through the evening. It was kinda liberating to walk around New York City half naked. Especially waiving to tourists on double decker tour buses! 🙂
It’s NYC, seeing gays holding hands is a common occurrence. Somehow though, seeing so many gays holding hands on the street, stealing kisses, embracing, smiling, children on their shoulders waving rainbow flags-there’s nothing way to describe what that feels like. It’s nothing short of comforting. There were so many churches along the route waving rainbow flags, senators, police officers, and fire fighters in the parade.

My favorite groups were Dykes on Bicycles (I missed Dykes on Bikes) The Floats with the naked men-because you’ve got to appreciate a perfect body no matter if you’re gay, straight, bi, or not! Lastly, all the Trans floats-Those women are smokin’. With smokin’ bodies! Who wears 5″ heels from 52nd Street to the Village!? Trannies do!!! And I’m amazed that they can! I can barely where wedges.

The entire weekend was great. I spent the entire time with Lady M and wouldn’t have it any other way. I’m not going to get into the details-but I will say that everything about the Lady M is amazing and I haven’t felt this way about anyone in my life.
Leave a Reply

