and on and on and on…

Retail is Crazy. It’s one of those things that you never really know about unless you actually are immersed in it. You never really understand what it’s about if you’re not a retailer. I’m not talking the buyers; the behind the scene folks. I’m talking about the stores.

I’ve been working retail for about nine years now. It’s one of those things that I sort of fell into. I went to school to be a writer. Creative writing is my thing. I came to NYC to live out my dreams of being the next Lauren Weisberger or Philippa Gregory(don’t laugh) I started my retail career with an amazing company, J. Crew. I love, love, loved everything about J. Crew and still do. That’s a lie. I loved everything about J. Crew until it J. sCrewed me! Not bitter at all. And, no, I didn’t get fired-I left on a voluntary basis. Fast forward to now-I work for an amazingly creative company that I will not mention. Before that, I worked for Saks Fifth Avenue which sucked giant balls.

Thing is, it’s basically the same every where that you work. I’m one of the crazies that love to work retail. I love the fashion aspect, first of all. I mean come on-you get to play with clothes all day. Especially at my current stomping ground the sheer volume of clothing that comes into our store every day is mind boggling. We have some of the most interesting fabrics, prints, and ridiculously expensive, albeit softest, tee shirts since Fred Segal. It’s amazing. Another thing that I love about my store is the creative power behind our visual team-they literally come up with ideas and make these fantastic displays that people actually come in and photograph.

All of greatness that is retail aside, it can be the biggest pain in the ass on the planet. Like today. Today we were painfully short staffed and everything silly that could have happened did happen. For instance; a woman came in wearing our pair of shoes and said, “The bow on my shoe came off.” and just stood there. Really? I literally asked her if she thought I had a box of bows in the back room just for that reason. I didn’t say it like that, of course, but I did tell her that we didn’t have a bow box. In the end, I told her that she could return the shoes and get another pair.

I then had a woman come in with a receipt-and only a receipt and want to get cash back for the two pairs of jeans on the receipt. She wanted the cash and then wanted to use a gift card to pay for the jeans that weren’t really there. Yup-Just that. And didn’t understand why I couldn’t give CASH for jeans she may, or may not actually own.

Ugh. Enough about work.

So-Nerve. The cutest girl sent me an e-mail today. Ironically, she has the same name as S with a slightly different spelling. She’s really beautiful with these amazingly dark and mysterious eyes…I’m intrigued. We shall see. I mean, with online “dating” it’s sort of hard to flirt. You don’t want to spend too much time in cyber land because you shouldn’t find out everything about them before you actually get them in the flesh and blood. But I’m never quite sure how and when you exchange the phone numbers/AIM screen name. After one e-mail, two? three?
I dunno. S #1 and I exchanged several and now she’s back with the ex. If I’d had bigger balls, arranged a date, would it have worked?

I’m also a really poor “dater.” I have the tendency to get involved with people right away. My last few long-term relationships should have just been short and sweet. It would’ve saved me the heartache anyway. Yet, I seem to have a hard time just going out with someone, enjoying their company, enjoying the sex and not get instantly attached. It’s what I do. I meet someone, I like them and WHAM! I’m in love. It always ends in disaster. I don’t think I have the ability to date more than one person at the same time. But, I think it would be a good thing to sort of test the waters and enjoy the company of another person without getting to the place where I think I’m in love. I’m very quick to love-I love with my whole heart and my entire being. It’s a good thing, in a way, because you should just love and not question it. It’s awful because you just love and don’t question it.

S#2 Sent me an e-mail via Nerve at 5:41PM. I responded about an hour ago at 9:ooPM…Now comes the part where I wait for her reply and log onto Nerve all the time…god, I hate that about myself some times.

Leave a Reply

